Linowes Takes Active Role in Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan Public Hearing

June 25, 2015

An impressive team of Linowes and Blocher LLP land use attorneys appeared on behalf of almost two dozen clients at the Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan Public Hearing held on June 24, 2015.  Many clients, who range from property owners to developers to churches, are looking at this Plan as a way to move Bethesda forward and capture its development opportunities for the next twenty years. Many are asking for more density and height to capitalize on the public transit resources that are within the Sector Plan area, including Metro, future Purple Line (approved by the Governor to move forward today) and a possible bus rapid transit line. They also want the Plan to provide sufficient flexability such that market forces are not overly restricted – like allocating both commercial and residential densities on most properties instead of just one or the other.

In addition, the Plan aims to preserve certain sites as Priority Sending Sites which are encouraged to transfer density to other sites in and around Bethesda. Clients are excited about the opportunity to take Bethesda to a new level if sufficient density and height can be provided while balancing the County's goals of protecting and creating meaningful public spaces and connections.   

The record will remain open until July 1, 2015 for anyone wishing to comment.  The Planning Board expects to hold worksessions over the Summer to review the testimony and written comments, and then send it to the County Council in the Fall of 2015. Here is a link to the Public Hearing Draft: Bethesda Downtown Plan Public Hearing Draft.

If you have any questions or wish to discuss the Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan in greater detail, please contact one of the following:

Todd Brown at tbrown@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5218

Bob Dalrymple at bdalrymple@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5208

Heather Dlhopolsky at hdlhopolsky@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5270

Steve Elmendorf at selmendorf@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5110

Erin Girard at egirard@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5153

Barbara Sears at bsears@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5157

Emily Vaias at evaias@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5174

Scott Wallace at swallace@linowes-law.com or 301-961-5124