ATTENTION: Redevelopment Opportunity in Downtown Bethesda

July 2018

The Montgomery County Department of Transportation (MCDOT) has issued a Request for Development Proposals for Public Parking Garage Number 47 (see RFDP), which is located on the northeast corner of Waverly Street and Montgomery Avenue in Bethesda.

The site comprises two parcels totaling approximately 39,750 square feet and currently houses a portion of a 365-space public parking garage, the rest of which garage extends over the "air rights" of Waverly Street to a parcel on the west side of Waverly Street. Although the RFDP is only for the east side of Waverly Street, MCDOT will consider proposals that include the entire Public Garage site on both sides of Waverly Street and the “air rights” connection above Waverly Street (all of which comprises approximately 60,391 square feet). This excerpt from the Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan identifies the location of Public Garage 47.

Responses to the RFDP are due to MCDOT by 3:00 pm on September 17, 2018.

Linowes and Blocher has represented numerous developers in gaining necessary land use and zoning entitlements and negotiating purchase and sale agreements and public-private partnership agreements with Montgomery County in connection with the acquisition and development of public-private mixed-use projects both in Bethesda and throughout the County. Linowes and Blocher also has significant experience assisting developers in navigating the land use and zoning processes related to development and redevelopment of properties pursuant to the recently approved Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan and Bethesda Overlay Zone, which includes the Garage 47 site.

Please contact Jeffrey Murphy, Partner, at (301) 961-5172 or jmurphy@linowes-law.com, or any of our land use and zoning partners listed below with questions about the Garage 47 public-private partnership opportunity specifically, or generally to learn more about our land use and zoning and/or transactions capabilities and experiences with development and redevelopment projects in Bethesda and beyond. Visit our website for more information about some of the public-private partnerships and mixed-use projects with which our attorneys have been actively involved.

Land Use/Zoning Partners:
Bob Dalrymple at 301-961-5208 or bdalrymple@linowes-law.com
Heather Dlhopolsky at 301-961-5270 or hdlhopolsky@linowes-law.com
Erin Girard at 301-961-5153 or egirard@linowes-law.com
Phillip Hummel at 301-961-5149 or phummel@linowes-law.com
Barbara Sears at 301-961-5157 or bsears@linowes-law.com
Scott Wallace at 301-961-5124 or swallace@linowes-law.com