

News

Dlhopolsky Appointed Chair of Nightime Economy Task Force

Attorneys

Heather Dlhopolsky

LEGGETT ANNOUNCES MEMBERS OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY'S

"NIGHTTIME ECONOMY" TASK FORCE

Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett recently announced his appointments to the County's Nighttime Economy Task Force designed to evaluate and push forward changes to encourage increased nighttime business and social activity for residents, employees, and visitors of all ages and cultural backgrounds. Heather Dlhopolsky, Associate with Linowes and Blocher was named Chair of the Task Force.

The Nighttime Economy Task Force will examine policies, resources and amenities that address Montgomery County's nightlife offerings. Specifically, the task force will address policies that can boost entertainment offerings throughout the County, increase financial prospects of employment and business development while also helping to enhance the sense of community throughout the communities that make up our county.

"This initiative reflects my vision for a 21st century Montgomery that is innovation-driven, transit-friendly, connected, and multi-generational," said Leggett. "A thriving nighttime economy is an opportunity to enhance Montgomery's attractiveness to all generations, businesses and visitors. In its first phase, the focus will be on Bethesda, Silver Spring, Rockville, Germantown, and Wheaton."

Through the Nighttime Economy Task Force, the County will examine the following questions and opportunities:

- What kind of mix of business, entertainment and arts would make a vibrant and attractive urban center?
- How do we attract businesses in defined geographic areas that appeal to multiple generations?
- What are the national trends and models on nighttime economy?
- How do we develop local models to enhance the County's nighttime offerings in its urban centers?



The Task Force members announced are:
Name
Role
Area they represent
Industry
1. Heather Dlhopolsky
Chair
Bethesda
Board Member and Vice President of Economic Development of BCC Chamber; Linowes and Blocher LLP
2. Henriot St. Gerard
Vice Chair
Wheaton
Chair of the Wheaton Urban District Advisory Committee
3. Kristina Bigby
Transportation lead
County
Barwood Transportation
4. Andy Chod
Public Space and Amenities lead
Upcounty
Minkoff Development
5. Mike Diegel
Arts & Entertainment lead



Silver Spring

Chair of the Silver Spring Arts & Entertainment Advisory Committee

6. Miti Figueredo Transportation lead Downcounty Chevy Chase Land Company 7. Evan Glass Quality of Life Silver Spring Silver Spring Citizens Advisory Committee 8. Will Jawando Quality of Life lead Silver Spring **Discovery Communications** 9. Erica Leatham Public Space and Amenities lead Bethesda Ballard Spahr, Chair of Arts & Humanities Council 10. Alice Nappy Arts & Entertainment lead Rockville VisArts 11. Megan Pagado



Arts & Entertainment lead

Silver Spring
Assistant Manager of Digital Media at Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
12. Dan Reed
Transportation lead
Silver Spring
Community Activist
13. Vanessa Rodriguez
Business Engagement lead
Bethesda
FRIC
14. Alan Pohoryles
Venue Safety lead
Bethesda
Tommy Joes Restaurant
15. Jonathan Sachs
Business engagement lead
County
Adventist Healthcare
16. Holly Sears
Business Engagement lead
County
Montgomery Business Development Corporation



Officer.

17. Will Smith
Public Safety lead
Silver Spring
Resident
18. Stephanie Steele
Venue Safety lead
Silver Spring
Fillmore
19. Gam Wijetunge
Public Safety lead
Wheaton
Wheaton Volunteer Rescue Squad & Member of Mid-County Citizens Advisory Board
20. Doug Wrenn
Quality of Life lead
Upcounty
Rodgers Consulting
21. Linda Price
Council Staff
The Task Force is expected to complete its policy recommendations within six months of its first meeting.
Lead County staff for the effort will be Ana Lopez van Balen, Mid-County Regional Director; Kathie Durbin, Chief,

Additional representatives will come from the County Council staff and local municipalities. Additional members of the community will be involved through issue group meetings or through community forums that will be established to vet

Department of Liquor Control; Gabe Albornoz, Director, Department of Recreation; and Dan Hoffman, Chief Innovation



recommendations from the task force.

Serving as ex-officio members will be County Councilmembers Marc Elrich, Valerie Ervin, Nancy Floreen, and Hans Riemer.

Task Force chair Heather Dlholopolsky can be contacted at nighttimeeconomy.cex@montgomerycountymd.gov for questions related to the task force.