ALERT: New Development Impact Tax Rates to Take Effect in Montgomery County July 1, 2019

May 14, 2019

New development impact tax rates for transportation and public school improvements are scheduled to take effect on July 1st in Montgomery County. The County updates these rates every two years, and the new rates are anticipated to be in effect through June 2021. Depending on the geographic location of a project within the County and the type of development, some rates will go up on July 1st and others will come down. Because the rate of the tax due is the rate in effect when the tax is paid to the County, anyone planning to pay the development impact taxes for a project in the coming months should carefully evaluate the new rates, found here.

If you are interested in learning more about the new development impact tax rates for transportation and public school improvements, please contact one of the Linowes and Blocher Land Use Partners located in our Bethesda office:

Bob Dalrymple at 301-961-5208 or bdalrymple@linowes-law.com

Heather Dlhopolsky at 301-961-5270 or hdlhopolsky@linowes-law.com

Erin Girard at 301-961-5153 or egirard@linowes-law.com

Phillip Hummel at 301-961-5149 or phummel@linowes-law.com

Barbara Sears at 301-961-5157 or bsears@linowes-law.com

Scott Wallace at 301-961-5124 or swallace@linowes-law.com