Montgomery County Council Enacts Sweeping Changes to Subdivision Staging Policy

November 29, 2012

On Tuesday, November 13, 2012, the Montgomery County Council enacted comprehensive changes to the County's Subdivision Staging Policy (SSP), the regulations that govern the Planning Board's application of the Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance (APFO) to new subdivision applications. These regulations control how quickly (or slowly) development will be allowed to proceed in the County regardless of what the zoning may permit.

The Most Sweeping Changes Include:

  1. A new policy area transportation test (TPAR) that measures both road and transit adequacy;      
  1. A new TPAR fee that most subdivision applicants will now have to pay; and   
  1. An additional and potentially costly test for local traffic impact that subdivision applicants will have to "pass" when their subdivision traffic impacts already congested intersections.

If you would like more detailed information about how the new SSP will impact your subdivision plan, please contact the attorneys in our Bethesda Land Use Practice Group:

Todd Brown at 301-961-5218 or tbrown@linowes-law.com

Yum Yu Cheng at 301-961-5219 or ycheng@linowes-law.com

Bob Dalrymple at 301-961-5208 or bdalrymple@linowes-law.com

Stephen Elmendorf at 301-961-5110 or selmendorf@linowes-law.com

Erin Girard at 301-961-5153 or egirard@linowes-law.com

Nathan Greenbaum at 301-961-5196 or ngreenbaum@linowes-law.com

Stephen Kaufman at 301-961-5156 or skaufman@linowes-law.com

Anne Mead at 301-961-5127 or amead@linowes-law.com

Barbara Sears at 301-961-5157 or bsears@linowes-law.com

Emily Vaias at 301-961-5174 or evaias@linowes-law.com

Scott Wallace at 301-961-5124 or swallace@linowes-law.com

Linowes and Blocher LLP has prepared this e-blast for general information purposes only, and the information contained in it does not constitute legal advice. This e-blast is not an offer to represent you and does not create an attorney-client relationship with Linowes and Blocher LLP or any of the firm's lawyers. You should not act, or refrain from acting, in a manner that changes your legal position based upon any information contained in this e-blast without first consulting with an attorney.