Montgomery County Council Reviewing District Map Amendment

June 24, 2014

On July 3 and 10, 2014, the Montgomery County Council's Planning, Housing, and Economic Development Committee ("PHED") is scheduled to review the county-wide District Map Amendment G-956 ("DMA") associated with the recently adopted Zoning Ordinance Rewrite that will be effective on October 30, 2014.  The DMA proposes a comprehensive rezoning of many areas of the County to new zones as a result of the new Zoning Ordinance Rewrite.  Comments must be submitted into the record by Friday, June 27, 2014 in order to be included in the discussion on July 3, 2014.   

For some properties, the new Zoning Ordinance and the DMA may have a positive impact with new opportunities or no effect at all, whereas for others, it may result in reduced development densities, lost grandfathering protections and increased development restrictions. Each property should be reviewed independently to assess the impacts of the new Zoning Ordinance and the pending DMA.  Please also note that changes have been made to the proposed DMA since April 2014, so the proposed zoning of all properties should be checked again.

You may use the following link to enter the address of your property and check the proposed rezoning by the DMA. Once on the DMA page, you can insert an address in the upper left-hand, white box, and the current and proposed zoning should be displayed.  

     DMA Interactive Map 

You may also contact any one of our Montgomery County land use attorneys below if you have questions about how the new Zoning Ordinance and pending DMA may affect your properties or if you otherwise need any assistance.

Bethesda Attorneys

Todd D. Brown at 301-961-5218 or tbrown@linowes-law.com

Yum Yu Cheng at 301-961-5219 or ycheng@linowes-law.com

C. Robert Dalrymple at 301-961-5208 or bdalrymple@linowes-law.com 

Heather Dlhopolsky at 301-961-5270 or hdlhopolsky@linowes-law.com

Stephen P. Elmendorf at 301-961-5110 or selmendorf@linowes-law.com

Erin E. Girard at 301-961-5153 or egirard@linowes-law.com

Nathan J. Greenbaum at 301-961-5196 or ngreenbaum@linowes-law.com 

Stephen Z. Kaufman at 301-961-5156 or skaufman@linowes-law.com

Anne M. Mead at 301-961-5127 or amead@linowes-law.com

Barbara A. Sears at 301-961-5157 or bsears@linowes-law.com

Emily J. Vaias at 301-961-5174 or evaias@linowes-law.com

Scott C. Wallace at 301-961-5124 or swallace@linowes-law.com

  

Linowes and Blocher LLP has prepared this e-blast for general information purposes only, and the information contained in it does not constitute legal advice. This e-blast is not an offer to represent you and does not create an attorney-client relationship with Linowes and Blocher LLP or any of the firm's lawyers. You should not act, or refrain from acting, in a manner that changes your legal position based upon any information contained in this e-blast without first consulting with an attorney.